Ridgemont Board of Education Conducts May Meeting

Posted on May 27, 2022

The following highlights were prepared by Superintendent Sally Henrick

Congratulations to the Ridgemont Class of 2022! Our seniors will be graduating next Friday, June 3rd at 7:00 pm in the Mt. Victory Gym.

Graduation officially wraps up the 21-22 school year. We hope that all staff and students have a great summer, spend time with loved ones, and find time to relax and recharge.

Information about the 2022- 2023 school will be posted on the Ridgemont School website and shared with parents via ParentSquare as we get closer to the start of next school year.

Upcoming Calendar

Friday, June 3 Senior Graduation – 7:00 pm Mt. Victory Gym

Wednesday, August 17 First Day of School for the 2022-2023 School Year

May 26, 2022 Regular Board Meeting Highlights:

Marty Rothey, Northwest Regional Manager of the Ohio School Boards Association was in attendance to recognize Eric Hill for being a member of the Ridgemont Board of Education for 15 years. Thank you Mr. Hill for your service to our school and community!

The board thanked and recognized the following retirees and presented a gift to them from the district.

Wooden Ridgemont gift boxes were given to-

Marianne Galyk – Visual Art Teacher – 22 years

Frank Galyk – Route Bus Driver – 10 years

Pam Robinson – 6th Grade Math and Science Teacher – 30 years

The board recognized Dan Robinson, Kenton Times Reporter. Mr. Robinson is a Ridgemont Alumni and past Ridgemont Board of Education Member. Mr. Robinson has been a strong supporter of the district and has covered every event from board meetings to football games to FFA awards to levies to spelling bees and much more. The board thanked him for his coverage and support by presenting him with a Varsity R Excellence Award. Ridgemont sends best wishes to Dan and Pam in their retirement.

It was a busy night again recognizing student achievements, please join me in congratulating the following students:

.Congratulations to Brooklyn Nelson for earning the Bellefontaine Examiner All Area Basketball

.Congratulations to the current National Honor Society members:

Aliyah Musson
Mykenzie Lance
Shaya Robinson
Emma Smith
Shaina Hamilton
Mason Stuck
Grant Reppart
Jenna Ward
Olivia Karcher
Landon Newland
Lola Ramsey
Hallie Howard
Avery Newland
Abigail Furer
Jiliian Kearns
Mary Rose
Kevin Eckstein
McKayla Creviston
Loryn Elsasser
Braxton Thomas
Regann McGrath
Donovan Brose
Abigail McElfresh
Jenna Jordan
Mackenzie Dennis

.Congratulations to the newly inducted National Honor Society members:

Lane Underwood
Callie Cromer
Sage Quinton
Brooklyn Nelson
Austin Long
Charlie Chronister
McKala Grauel
Addison Hensel
Taylor Hollinger
Jayda Dondrea
Hannah McKinniss
Michael Dilbone
Kaelyn Saylor
Hayden Shoffner

.Congratulations to the Elks Teens of the Month for the 2021-2022 school year:

October: Mason Stuck and Callie Cromer
November: Grant Reppart and Brooklyn Nelson
December: Olivia Karcher and Emma Smith
January: Mitch Jennings and Mykenzie Lance
February: Aliyah Musson and Ashtin Elliott
March: Shaina Hamilton
Ridgemont Teens of the Year were Mykenzie Lance and Mason Stuck

.Congratulations to District Track and Field participants:

Jeb Patterson – 6th 110m hurdles, 8th 300m hurdles
Weston McKinley – 7th Shot Put
Clayton Patterson – 6th long jump
Boys 4×100 – 7th – Jeb Patterson, Donovan Brose, Clayton Patterson, Michael Dilbone
Michael Dilbone – 8th Pole Vault
Callie Cromer – 6th Pole Vault, 6th 100m Hurdles

.Congratulations to Wes McKinley for earning First Team NWCC all league with his first place in
Shot Put for the second year in a row.

.Congratulations to the following Relay Team for setting a new record – 4×100 Relay: Clayton
Patterson, Donovan Brose, Michael Dilbone, Jeb Patterson

.Congratulations to the Junior High Track Team and coaches, Darcy Ruppright and Chris James, a
great year of championships. See their wins and records set below.

.Congratulations to the –

Junior High Boys Track Team for earning NWCC League Champs
Junior High Girls Track Team for earning NWCC League Champs
Junior High Boys Track Team for earning Co-Champs at the Hardin County Track and Field Meet
Junior High Girls Track Team for earning Runner Up at the Hardin County Track and Field Meet.

.Congratulations to the JH Track New Records Setters-

4×1 Relay – Ethan Moore, Weston Nichols, Mason Howard, Jayden Sifrit. 49.16
4×2 Relay – Ethan Moore. Devan Ramsey, Weston Nichols, Jayden Sifrit 1:42.50
4×8 Relay – Devan Ramsey, Connor Eckstein, Jakob Wallace, Daniel Chapman 12:23.98.
4×8 Relay – Anna Ramsey, Laney Elsasser, Kaeleigh Hooker, Prezely Furer 13:26.27


The board accepted the resignation of Shawn Smith as Intervention Specialist and Athletic Director at the end of the 2021-2022 contract.

Erin Dechman was approved by the board to be the 7-12 Visual Arts Teacher. Ms. Dechman has degrees from Baker College of Owosso and Ohio Wesleyan University and is attending Bowling Green State University to further her education. She has 6 years teaching experience in school districts as an art teacher.

Two year contracts were approved for Tom Mustain, Technology Coordinator and Robet Ball, Transportation Supervisor.

The board approved the following teaching contracts, effective the 2022-2023 school year:

.Four Year Contracts-Amy Ahlstrom, Dustin Scott, Stacy Sparkman, Jessica Thompson, Emily Tyll, Danielle Webber, Samantha McCullough

.Three Year Contracts-Jessica Brackman, Brian Claybaugh, Tom Jarvis, Kevin Wingfield

.One Year Contracts-Amanda Atole, Anthony Fink, Danielle Poland, Cassie Thomas

The board approved a classified 2 year contract with Jo Warner, in the Maintenance Department.

The following supplemental contracts were approved for the 2022-2023 school year:

Football Head Coach – Luke Taviano

Extra Curricular Supervisor – Stephanie Jolliff

The board approved a teacher salary adjustment, special education agreements, and the shared food service supervisor agreement for the 2022-2023 school year.

The bus driver salary schedule was approved and the substitute bus driver rate of $17.00 per hour was also approved.


The board approved the following lunch and breakfast fees for the 2022-2023 school year:

FY23 Lunch Prices
K-8 Students – $3.00
9-12 Students – $3.25
Reduced Lunch – $.40
Adult Lunch – $4.00
Milk – $.50
FY23 Breakfast Prices
Student – $1.75
Reduced – $.30
Adult – $2.00

Policies were approved as well as the radio repeater contract. A new bus purchase was approved for a 78 passenger bus, at a cost of $107,490. The school bus grant will be used to cover $45,000 of this cost.

A motion for The Ridgemont Public Library was approved to replace outgoing board member Erin Elliott with Haley Gann.


We want to thank everyone who has generously donated to our school. The Ridgemont Board of Education accepted donations and took the time to thank the donors listed below for their generosity to the district.

-Thank you to Jennifer Russell for the donation of candy bars to the K-5th grade students, items for the third
grade class store and prizes for Accelerated Reading

.Thank you to the Soroptimist International of Hardin County for the donation to the Nurse’s Clinic.
Work Session

.The board convened in a work session to discuss Transportation.

Current track