Columbus Grove Junior Named NWC Player of the Year

Written by on February 26, 2020

Columbus Grove junior Blake Reynolds was chosen as the 2019-20 NWC Player of the Year by Northwest Conference boys’ basketball coaches at their annual selection meeting.

Reynolds received 119 total points in the voting in a near unanimous selection.

He averaged 16.8 points per game along with 9 rebounds and 5 assists per game for the Bulldogs.

Joining Reynolds on the NWC first team were Kalen Etzler (CV), Luke Denecker (BL), Mason Soper (BL), Tayt Birnesser (CG) and Brandon Hull (ADA). Reynolds, Etzler, Birnesser and Hull are juniors while Denecker and Soper are seniors. Reynolds and Denecker are 3-time first team selections with Etzler and Birnesser being two-time selections.

Coach of the Year honors in the NWC go to Chris Sautter of Columbus Grove for the second consecutive year. He led the Bulldogs to an 8-0 conference mark and an undefeated regular season.

The team breakdowns are as follows:


Blake Reynolds (CG) 11

Kalen Etzler (CV) 11

Luke Denecker (BL) 12

Mason Soper (BL) 12

Tayt Birnesser (CG) 11

Brandon Hull (ADA) 11


Creed Jessee (LV) 11

Ian Wannenacher (DJ) 11

Jared Piercefield (BL) 12

Collin Overholt (LV) 11

Josh Henline (SV) 9


Gabe Clement (CG) 11

Blake McGarvey (PL) 11

Phillip Coulson (ADA) 12

Jake Bowersock (LV) 11

Carson Kreischer (CV) 11

Payton Beckman (PL) 11

Hunter Mericle (DJ) 12

Dalton Prichard (SV) 11

Logan McCluer (AE) 12

FINAL STANDINGS (first set conference record followed by overall in parentheses)

Columbus Grove 8-0 (22-0)

Bluffton 6-2 (18-4)

Lincolnview 6-2 (11-11)

Crestview 4-4 (11-11)

Delphos Jefferson 4-4 (8-14)

Ada 3-5 (9-13)

Spencerville 3-5 (7-15)

Paulding 2-6 (6-16)

Allen East 0-8 (5-17)

Continue reading

Current track