Kenton Wrestlers Take First in Ridgedale Invitational

Written by on December 9, 2019

For the first time in recent history the Kenton wrestlers took top honors in the Ridgedale High School Wrestling Invitational, Moral, OH. The wildcats placed nine wrestler on their way to their first place finish.

Finishing in first place in their fist tournament of the season was Conner Dye in the 106 lbs weigh group, Aaron Modd at 120 pounds, at 160 lbs Carter Bays, Ethan Manns in the 182 weigh group, Brandon Bowling at 195 lbs, and Noah Eikenbary in the 285 lbs group.Keith Harbor and Mason Rhoades finished in second place. Rounding of the medal winners was Alex Fur in third place. fourth place finisher where Josh Hart and Jayson Dyer.

Modd pinned Grady Schafer of Buckeye central at the 1:04 mark in the first period securing his first place finish. Carter Bays pinned all of his opponents on his way to his championship. Bays pinned Luke Waldo of Elgin (@1:15), Marion Harding’s Joey Rice (@1:50), and Myles Nutter of Ridgedale (@1:35). Ethan Manns and Mason Rhoades both competed in the 182 lbs weight class. Manns finishing in first place earning three pin falls for the day. Manns pinned Brody Wilson (Elgin @ 3:24), Mason Brown (Buckeye Central @:42), and Evan Craig (Marion Harding @ 3:42). Manns dropped his second round to Donavan Weddell in a 6-8 regular decision. Securing Mann’s first place finish was a final round 12-1 major decision win over fellow team mate Mason Rhoades. That one loss landed Rhoades in second place. rhoades earned four pin falls for the day beating Evan Craig (Marion Harding @ 5:21), Mason Brown (Buckeye Central @ 1:44) , Brody Wilson (Elgin @ :36) and Donovan Weddell (Elgin @ 2:23). Rhoades taking his only loss of the day to Mann of Kenton. Brandon Bowling came on strong with a first round pin Fall over Ryan Pasma of Elgin at the 6:48 mark in overtime. Bowling won his next two matches earning his undefeated finish with 2 more pins over Tim Simon (N. Baltimore @ 1:19), Noah Eikenbary had a strong day pinning all three of his opponents Nate Thompson (Buckeye Central @ 1:00), Cory Nobin (N. Baltimore @ 2:45), and Jacob Sheets (Elgin @ 2:32). Eikenbary won by forfeit over Trystyn Bivins of Ridgedale.

Current track