Ohio Hi-Point FCCLA Students Advance to National Competition

Posted on May 3, 2021

BELLEFONTAINE, Ohio – Nine students from Ohio Hi-Point’s FCCLA Chapters at the Bellefontaine Main Campus and Graham High School advanced the FCCLA National competition at the end of the April.

Students competed virtually in the state competition in a variety of categories, showing skills, knowledge, and projects to the judges.

Zoe Taulbee, Brooklyn Bryant, and Kylee Pallaschke advanced to the FCCLA National competition for their Vehicle Safety campaign. In addition, they were awarded $2,500 for the OHP FCCLA chapter. Taulbee, Bryant, and Pallaschke are students in the Education Academy program.

Kaety Swank, Brooke Bechtel, and Amirah Etayem placed second in interpersonal communication.

Ireland Dulen and Olivia Shirk placed first for their Focus on Children project and Jordan Monaghan placed first in Public Policy Advocate.

Swank, Bechtel, Etayem, Dulen, Shirk and Monaghan are part of the Family Consumer Science satellite program at Graham High School.

These students will be competing in the end of June at the FCCLA National Leadership Conference.

In addition, the OHP Graham FCS program was awarded the Top Chapter for service hours earned after their work in and around the Graham community.

Brooke Bechtel, Kaety Swank, Andrian Dooley, Riley McAlexander, Lauren Smith, and Siera Honeycutt also earned the Power of One award for completing all five Power of One units as students set goals and action plans to help discover their personal power.

Ohio Hi-Point’s FCCLA advisors are Angie Walls and Donna Jarzab.

Current track